Tyler Distinguished Lecturers

The Varro E. Tyler Distinguished Lectureship was established in honor of Dr. Tyler to recognize his many contributions to the development of the professional and research programs in the College of Pharmacy during his 20 years tenure as Dean (1968-1988).

The next Varro E. Tyler Distinguished Lecture will be held on Friday, November 4, 2016.


2016 Varro E. Tyler Distinguished Lecturer

Lawrence A. Trissel
Former Director of Clinical Pharmaceutics Research (Retired)
M. D. Anderson Cancer Center Pharmacy

"Pharmacy Revolution: The Demise of Clinical Pharmaceutics"

March 22, 2016
10:30 to 11:30 a.m.
Fowler Hall in Stewart Center
Purdue University


Lawrence Trissel graduated from the Butler University College of Pharmacy and served a United States Public Health Service hospital pharmacy residency. He held several positions at the National Institutes of Health Clinical Center before joining the National Cancer Institute. For the next 14 years, Mr. Trissel was part of a team that developed over 125 experimental drugs for clinical trial, a number of which were subsequently commercially marketed. In 1989, Mr. Trissel became the Director of Clinical Pharmaceutics Research for the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center Pharmacy, leading this program to become one of the most successful research efforts of its kind in the world. Hundreds of research projects that greatly expanded the pharmaceutical information available for patient care were conducted. As a plus, this research program was profitable throughout its existence. After 17 years, a new Director of Pharmacy terminated this research effort in 2006, and Mr. Trissel retired from research.

Mr. Trissel has authored over 150 peer-reviewed journal articles throughout his career, reporting new information for pharmacists and nurses to use in patient care. Additionally, he has authored a number of books including Stability of Compounded Formulations, Calcium and Phosphate Compatibility in Parenteral Nutrition, Stability-Indicating HPLC Methods for Drug Analysis, and Trissel’s Tables of Physical Compatibility among others. Mr. Trissel also authored the vast Trissel’s Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, the largest electronic database of its kind ever assembled. However, he is best known for authoring the Handbook on Injectable Drugs throughout its first 17 editions. 

Previous Award Recipients

2015:  No speaker

2014:  Nick Barber

2013:  Philip S. Portoghese

2012:  Stephen P. Spielberg

2011:  David W. Bates

2010:  Richard B. Silverman

2009:  Suzanne Hill

2008:  Michael R. Cohen

2007:  Jack E. Dixon

2006:  Janet Woodcock

2005:  J. Lyle Bootman

2004:  Joseph R. Robinson

2003:  Daniel H. Rich

2001:  William E. Evans

2000:  Jane E. Henney

1999:  Palmer Taylor

1998:  Christopher T. Walsh

1997:  Henri R. Manasse, Jr.

1996:  Gerhard Levy

1995:  Daniel E. Koshland, Jr.

1994:  D. Craig Brater

1993:  Allan H. Conney

1992:  Gertrude B. Elion

1991:  Donald J. Cram

1990:  Avedis Donabedian

1989:  Arvid Carlsson

1988:  Leslie Z. Benet

1987:  Alan R. Battersby


Mega Menu Visual Content