2016 Annual Report: Faculty Awards and Recognitions

Industrial and Physical Pharmacy


Stephen R. Byrn

  • Dale E. Wurster Award in Pharmaceutics, AAPS, November 2016

Kinam Park

  • Special Government Employee at FDA CDER (2016)
  • Clarivate Analytics’ list of “Most Influential Scientific Minds. Highly Cited Researchers (2016)

Rodolfo Pinal

  • First Place, Purdue University Student Soybean Product Innovation Competition, Indiana Soybean Alliance 2016, Team Advisor

Qi “Tony” Zhou

  • Emerging Researcher Award, International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council of the Americas Foundation (IPEC) 2016


Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology


Animesh V. Aditya

  • “Favorite Faculty” nomination for the second time by students living in university residences

Emily C. Dykhuizen

  • 2016 V Scholar Plus Award

Gregory H. Hockerman

  • Received the Rick and Anne Borch Mid-Career Research Award

Chang-Deng Hu

  • Showalter University Faculty Scholar; 07/16-06/21

Markus A. Lill

  • Chaney Family Early Scholar Award

Wanqing Liu

  • Nominated to be a candidate for the College of Pharmacy Chaney Family Early Faculty Scholar Award

Carol B. Post

  • Provost’s Award for Outstanding Graduate Mentor, 2016

J. Christophe Rochet

  • Seed for Success Award (NIH R01, Cannon PI)

Val J. Watts

  • 2016 Chaney Scholar Award

Danzhou Yang

  • Purdue PIDD FY17-18 high-throughput chemical genomics screening grant, $15,000 (PI)


Pharmacy Practice


Patricia L. Darbishire

  • Service-Learning Senior Mentor Program
  • CIE Faculty Fellow

Karen S. Hudmon

  • Public Health Excellence Award - US Public Health Service - National award
  • Training and Education Award - AMSUS (the Society of Federal Health Professionals) - National award

Alex N. Isaacs

  • Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award - Indiana Pharmacists Alliance

Yaman Kaakeh

  • Mentoring Achievement Award Finalist - Purdue University College Mentors for Kids
  • University Senate Reappointment - Purdue University College of Pharmacy

Rakhi Karwa

  • AACP Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award Finalist

Jane E. Krause

  • Member Profile: Jane E. Krause, MS, RPh AACP Teachers of Pharmacy Practice Newsletter (Spring 2016, Volume 1, Issue 1)
  • Nominee, Purdue University Student Committee Favorite Faculty Award

Monica L. Miller

  • Chaney Family Preceptor of the Year - Purdue College of Pharmacy

Michael D. Murray

  • Fellow - American College of Clinical Pharmacy

Brian R. Overholser

  • 15 year service recognition - Purdue University

Sonak D. Pastakia

  • Fellow - American College of Clinical Pharmacy
  • Jefferson Science Fellow - State Department/USAID
  • Entrepreneurship Leadership Academy Fellow - Burton D Morgan Center for Entrepreneurship

Kimberly S. Plake

  • Fellow - American Pharmacists Association

Alissa L. Russ

  • Career Development Award (VA HSR&D CDA-2), 2013 -2018

Gloria P. Sachdev

  • Fellow - American Society of Health System Pharmacists 
  • Distinguished Service Award for Ambulatory Care - American Society of Health System Pharmacists
  • Pharmacist of the Year Award - Indiana Pharmacists Alliance

Steven A. Scott

  • President’s Award for Service - IPA
  • AACP Council of Faculties Service Award - AACP
  • Elected as Region IV-West Regional Councilor - The Rho Chi Society

Brian Shepler

  • IPhO Advocacy Challenge Event – Purdue chapter placed second overall

Margie E. Snyder

  • Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award - APhA  

Joseph Thomas

  • Gold Medal Presentation Award – AMCP

Zachary A. Weber

  • Best Poster Award Winner - Society of Hospital Medicine
  • Dr. Aziz Outstanding Teacher of the Year - Purdue College of Pharmacy

Kellie L. Jones Weddle

  • Hematology Oncology Pharmacy Association (HOPA) Fellow Status - Inaugural class


Mega Menu Visual Content