2017 Annual Report: Jenkins-Knevel and Kienly Awards Symposium

The annual College of Pharmacy Graduate Student Awards Symposium will be held on November 1, 2017, in the Purdue Memorial Union North Ballroom.

Jenkins-Knevel Awards

The Jenkins-Knevel Awards are supported by Dr. Serena Ford, daughter of Dr. Glenn L. Jenkins, Dean of the School of Pharmacy from 1941 to 1966, and other donors. They are given in honor of Dr. Jenkins and Dr. Adelbert M. Knevel (PhD 1957), professor emeritus and former Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research from 1969-1987. Dr. Knevel passed away in December of 2006. The 2017 recipients of the Jenkins-Knevel Awards for Excellence in Research are:

Mohamed El-Sayed, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Yihua Pei, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy
Tyler Shugg, Pharmacy Practice
Ying Yang, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Kienly Awards

The Kienly Awards have been endowed since 1976 by gifts from Dr. Albert V. Kienly, Jr., as well as by an anonymous faculty gift in memory of Dr. Kienly's father and mother. Dr. Kienly, Jr., who passed away in November of 2002, graduated from the Purdue University School of Pharmacy in 1940, and his father graduated from the School in 1901. The 2017 recipients of the Albert and Anna Kienly Awards for Outstanding Teaching by a Graduate Student are:

Kelsey Lubin, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy
Pragya Mishra, Pharmacy Practice
Meridith Robins, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology


Graduate Award Recipients
(L to R) Award recipients Mohamed El-Sayed, Ying Yang, Kelsey Lubin, Yihua Pei, Tyler Shugg, Meridith Robins, Pragya Mishra, and Dr. Danzhou Yang, Associate Dean for Graduate Programs

Mega Menu Visual Content