Heine Pharmacy Building

Dean of the College of Pharmacy Announced

February 28, 2017 - Eric L. Barker will become the new Dean of the Purdue College of Pharmacy, effective July 1, 2017. Barker is currently Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology and has served as Associate Dean for Research in Purdue’s College of Pharmacy since 2010. Read more here


“I am deeply honored to be named Dean of the College of Pharmacy. The extraordinary faculty within this college are making a tremendous impact every day as they work with our hardworking students and collaborate on innovative and relevant research to improve our world. I am committed deeply to our faculty, staff, students, and alumni as we seek to achieve a vision of being bold leaders, moving together to the highest level of excellence in discovery, learning, and providing patient care.”

- Eric Barker





September 2016 – Craig K. Svensson announced his intention to step down as Dean of the Purdue College of Pharmacy effective July 1, 2017. At that time, he will take a sabbatical to bring to completion at least one of two ongoing book projects and prepare new teaching materials before assuming fulltime faculty duties in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology.

“It has been my privilege to serve as your Dean for the past ten years. My initial external impression of the quality of our program has been reinforced many times over as I have seen it up close and personal for the past decade. Considering what lies ahead for the next decade, I believe the time is right for the College to begin a search for new leadership. I pledge to you my full energy to assure that our College of Pharmacy continues and builds upon its great tradition of excellence. Thanks for giving me the honor of being a part of the Purdue Pharmacy Family."

- Craig Svensson


Mega Menu Visual Content