Pharmacy Faculty Achievements

August 3, 2016 - Please join the Purdue College of Pharmacy in congratulating the following faculty on their recent achievements.

Dr. Mark Cushman, Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, has been awarded two new patents. The first is entitled, "Alcohol –, diol –, and carbohydrate – substituted indenoisoquinolones as topoisomerase I inhibitors." This patent is for a group of compounds developed as anticancer agents. The second patent is entitled, "Antimicrobial substituted thiazoles and methods of use." This patent describes a series of compounds developed for the treatment of resistant forms of staph aureus.

Dr. Lynne Taylor, Retter Professor of Pharmacy in the Department of Industrial and Physical Pharmacy, received a new award from Pfizer to support her project entitled, “Improved Mechanistic Understanding of Salt Disproportionation in Solid Oral Dosage Forms”. This award is for $125,000 for the next two years.

Dr. Zachary Weber has been appointed as Director of Interprofessional Education. Dr. Weber is currently Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Ambulatory Care for Eskenazi Health. In his new role, he will be responsible for coordinating the development of interprofessional education activities for the Doctor of Pharmacy program, serve as the liaison to the Indiana University Center for Interprofessional Health Education and Practice, and serve as the liaison for University-wide interprofessional education activities. The appointment will be effective January 1, 2017.

Dr. Qi (Tony) Zhou, Assistant Professor of Industrial and Physical Pharmacy, has been selected to receive a 2016 Emerging Researcher Award from the International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council-Americas Foundation. This award is for $15,000 over two years and will be formally presented at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists.


Mega Menu Visual Content