Sharing your calendar in Exchange
NOTE: These instructions are for Windows users using Outlook 2007.
In the College of Pharmacy's old calendar system, anyone could read (but not edit) your calendar by default. In the Exchange system, by default people can tell when you are free or busy, but can't see any details. Here's how to let other people read your calendar.
- Start Outlook and go to the Calendar tab. Click on "Share My Calendar" in the left-hand column.
- This will open a new email message (see below). Sending this "special" email will automatically grant the recipient the ability to read your calendar, and will invite them to add it to their list of calendars. If you check the box that says "Request permission to view recipient's calendar", the recipient will be prompted to share their calendar with you.
- NOTE THAT:
- You can only share calendars with people who are on our Exchange server.
- Sharing your calendar in this manner grants sets the recipient's access to view-only. Thus, if you have granted, or need to grant, the recipient greater access, such as to help manage your appointments, don't use this method! See out document on "Granting access to your calendar in Exchange" instead.
- When you click on "Yes", you should see another popup that looks like this:
Note that this means that you have granted someone access to read your calendar; it does not mean that they have actually read it.
Receiving a sharing offer
- When someone offers to share their calendar with you, using the method above, you will receive an email, as shown below.
- When you open the email, there will be a message and a button that will open their calendar for you.
- Clicking on the button will open the person's calendar, and add it to the list of "People's Calendars" in Outlook. You can check and uncheck calendars to see different ones.
- If someone offers to share their calendar with you, and wants to see yours in return, the email title is different.
- When you open the email, there are new buttons to allow or deny the request to view your calendar.
- If you allow the request, you will see a confirmation dialog
And once you click on "Yes", you will get a confirmation message:
- If you deny the request, you will see a different confirmation dialog:
Note that if you deny a request, you can come back later and accept it instead. HOWEVER, if you accept a request, and come back later and deny it, that person will still be able to access your calendar. This is because accepting the request makes changes to permissions on your calendar, but denying it makes no changes - denials assume that the person does not yet have access.