Lyman D. Eaton II (BS 1974) and Joyce A. Eaton established the Eaton Entrepreneur of the Year Award for an alumnus/a of the College who has excelled in entrepreneurial activities during his/her career. The recipient is presented with an engraved plaque and recognized at a public function.

Eaton Entrepreneur of the Year Award Selection Guidelines:

  • The winner must have excelled in the area of entrepreneurial activity by starting or growing a company/commercial enterprise in a significant manner.
  • The Dean of the College of Pharmacy and/or his/her nominee will determine the winner.
  • The winner must be able to travel to campus and receive the award and deliver a lecture relating to entrepreneurial activity to the Dean’s Executive Forum class in the spring semester.

2023 Eaton Entrepreneur

Beth Brown (BS 1991)

For more than 26 years, Dr. Beth Brown has been a Product and Technology Development Scientific Leader and Entrepreneur who creates products that improve lives. Her areas of expertise include pharma, biotech, medical device, and drug delivery technology in the healthcare industry.

Dr. Brown’s career has gravitated toward roles focusing on novel science, revolutionary and evolutionary next generation products, and the establishment of business processes. With a strong foundation in scientific and engineering fundamentals combined with regulatory and quality systems knowledge, she competitively drives new product commercialization. Her leadership experience is in all stages of research and development, clinical trial supply, scale-up, commercialization, and technical transfer. She is known for simplifying the complex with proficiency in applying Six Sigma principles for technical trouble shooting, creating departments with new capabilities, and for product/technology portfolio assessment. Dr. Brown’s knowledge of early to late-stage development, commercialization, and different business models enables her to navigate business strategies, as well as identify and deliver on unmet needs in the market.

Dr. Brown has a collaborative and purposeful leadership style, which promotes increased understanding of cross-functional roles and has led to focused execution on programs through times of acquisition, cultural integration, and pandemic crisis. She chooses to create an environment of success by mentoring constantly, focusing on creating sound plans, and holding individuals accountable for results. She has found that her approach of leading through influence establishes strong relationships with executive and functional leadership, external industry, and academic stakeholders.

Dr. Brown graduated with her B.S. Pharmacy from Purdue University in 1991 and a PhD in Pharmaceutics from the University of Michigan, 1997. She is a registered pharmacist in Minnesota and Indiana. She has supported Purdue University through industrial membership in the Center for Pharmaceutical Processing Research (CPPR) in the years 2008-2011. She has over 40 conference and invited presentation/publications and was guest lecturer for three years for a non-traditional pharmacy career path course at the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Brown is married and has two daughters and a yorkie-poo named Archie. Her eldest daughter is pursuing a degree in engineering at Purdue.

Previous Award Recipients

2022: Ismail D. Badjie (PharmD 2013)
2021: R’Kes Starling (BS 2002)
2020: John Zehner (BS 1998)
2019: Nathan Gabhart (BS 1998)
2013: Hamid Abbaspour (BS 1985)
2013: Alisa Wright (BS 1987)
2012: Katie MacFarlane Phillips (BS 1988, PharmD 1989)
2011: Rick Rondinelli (BS 1980)
2010: Barry Hart (BS 1990)
2009: Marcel Sassola (BS 1983)
2008: Jeff (BS 1997) and Angela (BS 1997, PharmD 1998) Jackson
2007: John (BS 1999) and Tara (BS 1999) Voliva