Pharmacy Women's Leadership Award

The Pharmacy Women's Leadership Award is presented annually by the Pharmacy Women for Purdue (PWFP) to recognize an alumna of the College of Pharmacy who has made significant contributions to and demonstrated exemplary involvement with the College. She must demonstrate significant and sustained volunteer leadership through service to the professional community. The recipient must also demonstrate engagement in the mentorship of colleagues and students. Nominations for this award come from the PWFP Steering Committee and the College’s faculty and staff. More information about PWFP can be found here

2018 Pharmacy Women's Leadership Award

Sarah Sanders
Sarah A. Sanders (BS 1978, PharmD 1980)

Dr. Sarah Sanders, BS, PharmD, MS is a pioneer and path setter who has had a multifaceted career in leadership within Pharmacy and Medicine. She is the first African American female to receive the PharmD degree at Purdue and also the first African American full-time faculty member at the Butler University College of Pharmacy. Dr. Sanders received her BS in Pharmacy and PharmD degrees both from Purdue and a Master of Arts in Gerontology from Ball State University. Early in her career she was also a lecturer at Temple University School of Pharmacy in Philadelphia.

Dr. Sanders has served on the Board of Directors of the American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation for the past six years and is currently Treasurer. She served as the 2014-2015 President of the American Medical Association Alliance, the largest organization representing the family of medicine in the US as well as the past President of the Indiana Medical Association Alliance. She currently serves on Purdue’s Strategic Research Advisory Council. She has served in a leadership capacity on many nonprofit boards and committees in the various communities where she has lived including helping to establish the funding for the IU Health/Ball Memorial Hospital Cancer Center while in Muncie, Indiana. While there she also served as Chairman of the Board of Directors for both the Open Door Community Services, Inc. and the Open Door Community Health Services, Inc. In this capacity she was instrumental in the delivery of healthcare to underrepresented populations in Muncie/Delaware County. She is a past chairperson of the Minority Advocacy Council of the College of Pharmacy where she has served for over 25 years and continues to serve. She is an active member of her church and her husband and both daughters are Purdue alumni.


Previous Award Recipients

2017: Valerie Gaylor (BS 1979, PharmD 1985)
2016:  Mary B. Baker (BS 1979)
2015:  Joanne Barrick (BS 1984)
​2014:  Jane Krause (BS 1981, MS 1994)
2013:  Shirley Paddock (BS 1990)
2012:  Jennifer Asay (BS 1994)
2011:  Alisa Wright (BS 1987)
2010:  Jeannie Chaney (BS 1961)

Mega Menu Visual Content